Forestburgh is a town in Sullivan County, New York, United States. It is where the Neversink River enters the Neversink Gorge and flows over High Falls. The Town of Forestburgh is in the south-central part of the county. Forestburgh's main industries in its early years were tanning, quarrying and lumbering. The mountains on either side of Bushkill Creek contained quarries of flagging, curbing and building stone (also known as bluestone). The largest of these was Paradise Quarry in Oakland Valley. Stone from this quarry was used to construct the Episcopal Church in Monticello. Many of the old sidewalks in New York City were said to have come from this area. The largest tannery was at Gilman's Station, which was later renamed St. Joseph's Station. According to French's Gazette, published in 1858, there were thirty-nine tanneries within the township, producing 100,000 sides of leather annually.
Recreational facilities and programs provided by The Town of Forestburgh include an outdoor swimming pool located at the Town Hall; the historic Forestburgh log cabin, one of the earliest structures built in Sullivan County; a skiing program for children in cooperation with Holiday Mountain Ski area; a children’s summer arts and crafts program; and a senior citizen’s program, which includes monthly meetings at the Town Hall and field trips.
The Forestburgh Playhouse has continued to offer its own unique version of summer theatre to audiences of Sullivan County. By the summer of 1997, the Playhouse celebrated its 50th birthday with a record breaking season, and at long last air-conditioning was installed in 2004.