The Skrīveri plantings of foreign trees lie about 80 kilometers from Rīga, by the Rīga – Daugavpils road, but the Skrīveri dendrarium is located right opposite, between the highway and the River Daugava. These are unique European scale sites of silvicultural history dating back to 1891. The park was designed and plantings were laid out by the owner of the Skrīveri Manor, Maximilian Sievers (1857 – 1919). The Park is notable for its dendrological plantations; nature walks have also been laid out here. The delegations of dendrologists from various European countries visit the park on an annual basis to see 300 sorts of trees and shrubs that remain from the 679 sorts which grew here before World War One. This is an opportunity to get acquainted with traditional forest landscapes of foreign countries without leaving Latvia. A family or a class can come here on a one day trip, or include this site into a longer route.
The Skrīveri manor house was impressive: the spacious two-storey facade was divided by risalits, bays, and several massive towers. The towers had steep four-slope roofs; in the corners, the cornice developed into decorative turrets with iron-wrought weather-wanes. The majority of window openings were enclosed by crescent-shaped arches grouped into twos and threes, or forming a whole arcade. The fountain in front of the manor house was built in 1897 and draws water from Lake Kalnamuižas through pipes shaped of pine trunks.