In the center of Kematen the Saint Martin´s church building is a central focus for visitors to the village.
The church first appeared in historical documents in 1179. The main nave was built and completed around 1490.
The church that you see today was built by stages in different eras but the foundations of a Roman fortress lie under the nave and the massive tower and are probably those of the original building.
The formerly detached tower had been a perpendicular one, perhaps a remnant from the earlier church. The present tower was built from a local white sandstone, as are most other buildings of the area. The tower boasts a significant defensive character with the appearance of firearms on the northern façade of the church.
In the main nave can be found the church´s most rare possession, a number of outstanding Baroque works of art of famous sculptor Johann Georg Schwanthaler. The vaults, the two side aisles, the high altar and the vestry all were added to the parish church later. Today´s interior ornaments and decoration date back to the year 1901.
The Baroque Saint Mary´s altar, the side altar dedicated to Saint Nepomuc and the outstanding chancel decorations are among the church´s most remarkable features. The most precious items, however, are Schwanthaler´s statues on the altarpiece.
MON, TUE, THU: 08:00 am
WED: 09:00 am
FRI: 7:30 pm
SAT: 6:30 pm S
UN: 08:00 am and 09:30 am
Pfarramt Kematen an der Krems
4531 Kematen an der Krems, Austria
Tel.: +43 (7228) 7226