The Santa Marija Tower on Comino forms part of the early system of towers which the Order set up to facilitate defence and communication between the Cittadella in Gozo and Mdina. It later became a key location of the system of towers built along the coast. The decision to build this Tower was taken by Grand Master Alof de Wignacourt in 1618, and was financed by the Grand Master himself, by the sale of the brushwood on the island and from the profits made by the resettled farmers. The site chosen was some eighty metres above sea level. The walls of the Tower are about six metres thick.
The Tower is surrounded by a thick, high rubble wall made of loose stones, which gave the impression that the Tower was surrounded by a ditch. During the British period the Tower was important for the protection of the anchorage and communications between Gozo and Malta, together with Fort St Agatha and Fort Chambrai. It was during this period that the internal fabric of the Tower was significantly changed, and it seems likely that it was used as an isolation hospital at some point, while the lower chamber was converted into a stable for animals. . Din l-Art Helwa has decided to thoroughly restore Santa Marija Tower and to preserve this historical monument and unique landmark situated in beautiful countryside with some spectacular views for enjoyment by all. This project is being sponsored by the Malta Maritime Authority and may take up to three years.