Nguom Ngao Cave located in Gun Village, Dam Thuy Commune, Trung Khanh District, just 3km from Ban Gioc Waterfall. Nguom Ngao Cave was formed from weathered age-old limestone by wind and water. It is considered as one of the most beautiful caves in northeast of Vietnam.
It is discovered in 1921 by local people then opened for tourists since 1996. With the length of 2,144m, Nguom Ngao cave is relative enormous, includes three main entrances. Now, Cao Bang Province only exploits 900m. The scenery in the interior of the cave is as picturesque as that of a fairly land. Visiting cave, tourist come in Nguom Luom entrance and go out Nguom Ngao entrance.
Go inside the cave, visitors will be dazzled by wonderful sparking seven-colored stalactites hanging down from high stone cliffs. Nature is clever to create stone statues of which some look like human bodies, some look like forest plant, animals, a fairy combining her hair or a lotus bulb, etc. Visitors can feel the harmony between stone and water.
Cave roof is continuously closed and open, giving the tourists a big surprise. Stalactites seem to grow from the soil, or hang down, vertical or horizontal with small and big figures piled and fixed in a hustle.
Nguom Ngao Cave with its primitive beauty creates a natural landscape that is not only magnificent, attractive but also full of Viet Bac distinction. It has been awarded as a national landscape by the Ministry of Culture and Information, drawing attention from domestic and foreign tourists to visit.
From 2006, there are asphalted road from Highway 206 to Nguom Ngao site and cement ways spreading inside cave combined with light systems.