Dre-fach Felindre is a village in Carmarthenshire, West Wales. It is located four miles south-east of Newcastle Emlyn. It lies at the confluence of three fast-flowing streams, the Nant Bargod, Nant Esgair and Nant Brân, where their steep-sided valleys open out into the Teifi Valley. In the 19th and early 20th century it was an important centre for the woollen industry and was given the epithet, "the Huddersfield of Wales". As the population increased, the villages of Dre-fach (Welsh language, small town) and Velindre (Welsh language, mill town) extended and merged to form the present community.
Culture and Community :
Dre-fach Felindre has little industry today. The mills still stand as monuments to the past but have been put to other uses. One now houses the National Woollen Museum, another a furniture warehouse and others have been converted to residences or accommodation for holiday visitors.There is a post office, a few shops, a church, several chapels and a primary school, Ysgol Gynradd Penboyr. There is a community hall, the Red Dragon Hall, and a children's playground. The football club, Bargod Rangers, plays at the community park, Parc Puw.
*Penboyr parish had been founded by the early 18th century, within what was to become Felindre.
*St Barnabas' Church was built for Lord Cawdor (whose birthday was St Barnabas' Day - 11 June), as was the church of St Barnabas' at Rhandirmwyn.
*The Unitarian chapel of Penrhiw was converted from a barn in 1777.